GCTM Award Winners Over the Years

Each year, the Georgia Council of Teachers of Mathematics, gives out awards to teachers, post-secondary instructors, and supervisors that model excellent math instruction and promote mathematics in Georgia and across the nation. Cobb winners of the awards have been:

Award for Excellence in the Teaching of Mathematics

Three awards, one each for elementary, middle, and secondary levels, are given to excellent teachers who have strong content foundations in mathematics appropriate for their teaching level, show evidence of growth in the teaching of mathematics, and show evidence of professional involvement in GCTM and NCTM.

2016 Emily Freeman, HS

2016 Dora Brown, MS

2016 Karen Hersey, ES

2015 Ashley Clody, MS

2006 Jean Linner, HS

John Neff Award

This award is presented to a member of GCTM who demonstrates excellence as a full time post- secondary educator and/or district supervisor. The recipient is someone who is an inspirer, a mentor, and an advocate of mathematics and mathematics education.

2012 Michelle Mikes

Gladys M. Thomason Award for Distinguished Service

Each year, GCTM selects one outstanding individual as the Gladys M. Thomason Award winner. Selection is based on distinguished service in the field of mathematics education at the local, regional, and state levels. To be eligible for the award, the nominee must be a member of GCTM and NCTM; be fully certified in mathematics, elementary or middle grades education at the fourth year level or beyond—or if the nominee is a college professor, be at least an assistant professor; and have had at least five years teaching or supervisory experience in mathematics or mathematical education in Georgia.

2013 Peggy Pool

2012 Debbie Poss

2003 Dottie Whitlow

Dwight Love Award

This award is presented to a teacher in Georgia who models excellence in the profession and in life and gives much to others beyond the classroom as mentor, teacher, and leader. The awardee is a master teacher, professionally active, and promotes GCTM and its mission.

2012 Tom Fulton Walton HS

2007 Peggy Pool, TSA

2006 Diana Lossner Pope HS

2004 Debbie Poss, Lassiter HS

2003 Don Slater, Lassiter HS

Teacher of Promise Award

GCTM recognizes one outstanding new teacher/member in the state each year who has no more than 3  years experience at the time of nomination and who demonstrates qualities of excellence in the teaching of mathematics.

2014 Erin Talley, Osborne

Michelle Mikes, Supervisor

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?