2016 GCTM Award Winners

At the annual Georgia Math Conference in October, Cobb teachers swept the Excellence in Mathematics Teaching Awards by winning the Elementary, Middle, and High School nominations.

Where is there excellence in math teaching? In the Cobb County School District! The Georgia Council of Teachers of Mathematics Association recognized three of our best at the annual Georgia Math Conference at Rock Eagle in Eatonton, Georgia on October 20, 2016.

Awards for the Excellence in the Teaching of Mathematics, three awards, one each for elementary, middle, and secondary levels, are given to excellent teachers who have strong content foundations in mathematics appropriate for their teaching level, show evidence of growth in the teaching of mathematics, and show evidence of professional involvement in GCTM and NCTM.

Cobb teachers won all three levels of the award. Karen Hersey at Nicholson Elementary School was awarded the Elementary award. Dora Brown at Palmer Middle School was awarded the Middle award. Emily Freeman, previously of Hillgrove High School and currently one of our technology specialist, was awarded the Secondary award.

Cobb County Mathematics teachers have represented well over the years. Past recipients of the five possible awards from GCTM include: Debbie Poss; Don Slater; Dottie Whitlow; Jean Linner; Michelle Mikes; Diana Lossner; Ashley Clody; Peggy Pool; and Erin Talley. For more information about GCTM’s organization, CLICK HERE.

Michelle Mikes, Supervisor


Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?