2017 GCTM Awards-Cobb Swept Excellence in the Teaching of Mathematics in All 3 Levels again!

At the annual Georgia Math Conference in October, Cobb teachers swept the Excellence in Mathematics Teaching Awards by winning the Elementary, Middle, and High School nominations.

Cobb did it again! The Georgia Council of Teachers of Mathematics Association recognized four of our best at the annual Georgia Math Conference at Rock Eagle in Eatonton, Georgia on October 19, 2017.

Awards for the Excellence in the Teaching of Mathematics, three awards, one each for elementary, middle, and secondary levels, are given to excellent teachers who have strong content foundations in mathematics appropriate for their teaching level, show evidence of growth in the teaching of mathematics, and show evidence of professional involvement in GCTM and NCTM.

Cobb teachers won all three levels of the award.

Karen Harrison at Nickajack Elementary School was awarded the Elementary award.

Renate Davis at McClure Middle School was awarded the Middle award.

Karen Kline at Kennesaw Mountain High School, was awarded the Secondary award.

And this year, Ashley Clody, District Professional Learning Specialist for 6-12 Mathematics, was awarded the Dwight Love Award: This award is presented to a teacher in Georgia who models excellence in the profession and in life and gives much to others beyond the classroom as mentor, teacher and leader. The awardee is a master teacher, professionally active, and promotes GCTM and its mission.

Cobb County Mathematics teachers have represented well over the years. Past recipients of the seven possible awards from GCTM include: Debbie Poss; Don Slater; Dottie Whitlow; Jean Linner; Michelle Mikes; Diana Lossner; Ashley Clody; Peggy Pool; Erin Talley; Karen Hersey; Dora Brown; and Emily Freeman . For more information about GCTM’s organization, CLICK HERE.

Michelle Mikes, Supervisor


Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?