CCSD Students Nominated for 2019 Shuler Hensley Awards

The ArtsBridge Foundation announced two Cobb Schools students as nominees for the 11th Annual Georgia High School Musical Theatre Awards. Dan Crew, a junior at Pope High School, earned a nomination in the sound category for “Chicago—High School Edition.” Walton High School senior Chris Arredondo was nominated for his choreography of “Young Frankenstein.” Although these two talented students were not named as the winning recipients on the night of the Shuler awards, they are winners in CCSD!!

In the lead-up to tonight’s event capping the 2018-19 school year, 75 high schools across the state enrolled to determine the nominees, with a team of more than 60 Georgia-based arts professionals evaluating the student productions. The accounting firm Bennett Thrasher tabulated the results for the 2019 Shuler Hensley Awards Nominees. The complete list of winners, nominees and honorable mentions is available online at on the ArtsBridge site.

Fashioned after Broadway’s Tony Awards, this year’s Shuler Award nominees in 17 categories span nearly 60 public and private schools from across the Peach State.
In addition to the two Cobb Schools nominees, three Cobb students also earned Honorable Mentions for their work in high school theater.

 Orchestra – Honorable Mentions
Jim Palmer, Allatoona High School, The Little Mermaid

 Choreography – Honorable Mentions
Olivia Brown, Harrison High School, Into the Woods

 Lighting Design – Honorable Mentions
Jacob Lee, Pope High School, Chicago (High School Edition)

Dr. Joseph Woodruff, Supervisor
Choral Music, Theatre & Dance


For any support, issues or comments; please contact the Webmaster.

©2021 Cobb County School District, Academic Division

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?