McCleskey Science Teacher named State Middle School Science Teacher of the Year

The Georgia Science Teachers Association announced the winners of the Science Teachers of the Year.

Annette Simpson, a teacher at McCleskey Middle School, has been selected as the 2020 Middle School Science Teacher of the Year for the state of Georgia by the Georgia Science Teachers Association.

“Mrs. Simpson is a consummate, caring professional who works tirelessly with all our school’s populations of students. As a classroom teacher, Annette values all students and every one of them as individuals.  She uses research-based practices as well as insightful and appropriate knowledge of students’ developmental, social and emotional needs to glean the best from them.  She is a trusted adult in the building- students who are having the most difficult times confide in her,” said Dr. Andrea Jenkins-Mann, McCleskey’s principal.  She continued in saying, “Annette works tirelessly outside of the classroom to extend learning for our students.  She is a winning Science Olympiad Coach and is an assistant Math Team Coach.  She revived our Environmental Club; and leads the 7thGrade campus cleanup with Rivers Alive!  I fully support her efforts to implement new curriculum and bring new professional ideas to our staff.  Annette leads our staff with assisting students in taking ownership for their learning, thinking more deeply, delving into the curriculum to relate it to real-world experiences, and engaging in meaningful tasks.”

Annette has received several recognitions and awards, including the Cobb STEM Distinguished Educator Award and the nationally-recognized Shell Teacher Award. She is always looking to further her professional knowledge by participating in as much professional development as possible. She is an active participant in the district’s STEM Innovation Academy as well as the STEMapalooza conference every summer.

Each year GSTA recognizes excellence in science teaching through the Science Teacher of Promise awards and recognition program.  The Science Teachers of Year award recognizes ongoing excellence in science and the commitment to its improvement.  Outstanding achievement in elementary, middle, and high school science teaching is recognized with the selection of a state winner.  All GSTA Award winners will be honored at a special awards banquet on February 14, 2020 at the Ironworks Conference Center.  This awards and recognition program is part of the annual GSTA Science Conference in Columbus, GA February 13-14, 2020.

The Georgia Science Teachers Association is a professional organization dedicated to improving science teaching at all levels, pre-school through university.  The mission of GSTA is to provide leadership and service for science education.  The current membership of over 2,000 includes science teachers, science supervisors, administrators, scientists, and representatives of business and industry.

To learn more, click on the following link:

Dr. Sally Creel, Supervisor
STEM and Innovative Practice

Contributing Author: Tania Pachuta, STEM Professional Learning Specialist

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?